Rights: National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research (NIWA) Published 3 December 2007 Size: 50 KB

Regions of water in the ocean are organised by temperature and salinity, the boundaries between them are called fronts. In the Southern Ocean there are two main fronts the Subantarctic Front (SAF) and Antarctic Polar Front (APF).