Rights: The University of Waikato Published 17 September 2009 Size: 67 KB

The element carbon has three naturally occurring atomic forms – 12C, 13C and 14C. These forms, which differ only in the number of neutrons found in the nucleus, are called isotopes. 12C is the most abundant of the three and is a stable isotope.