Add to collection
  • + Create new collection
  • Most of New Zealand's butterflies belong to the Nymphalidae and Lycaenidae families.

    Use the Slideshow menu for further options, including view full screen, and go here for the download option.

    Rights: The University of Waikato Te Whare Wānanga o Waikato Published 8 August 2018 Referencing Hub media

    Butterflies are categorised into 5 families – Papilionidae, Pieridae, Nymphalidae, Riodinidae and Lycaenidae. In New Zealand, our butterfly species fall into 3 of these families, while 2 families are not represented.

        Go to full glossary
        Download all