Most of New Zealand's butterflies belong to the Nymphalidae and Lycaenidae families.

Remember for optional viewing of this slide show select the full screen icon.

Rights: University of Waikato Published 8 August 2018 Referencing Hub media

Butterflies are categorised into 5 families – Papilionidae, Pieridae, Nymphalidae, Riodinidae and Lycaenidae. In New Zealand, our butterfly species fall into 3 of these families, while 2 families are not represented.