This interactive map shows details of the major volcanoes in New Zealand.

There are many different types of volcanoes around New Zealand. This map shows where the major volcanoes are, the types of volcanoes and interesting facts such as when they last erupted.

You will need the Adobe Flash Player to view it.


Te Puke, Bay of Islands

A scoria cone volcano that last exploded around 1,300–1,800 years ago. Located north-west of Paihia in the Bay of Islands, it is the northernmost volcano in New Zealand.

Whāngārei Volcanic Field

Formed over a hot spot (not a plate boundary), similar to Auckland, but much older. The Whāngārei field was active from 2.3 million years ago until approximately 30,000 years ago. It produced mainly scoria cone volcanoes.

Auckland Volcanic Field

A volcanic field that covers around 360 km2 under Auckland city. Includes 49 separate volcanoes, each of which is considered extinct. However, the field as a whole remains active. The last eruption was Rangitoto, around 600 years ago.

Little Barrier Island

An extinct andesite cone. The lava was thick so it formed a steep-sided cone, which has been weathered over time to form the present shape of the island. Last erupted between 1 and 3 million years ago.

Mayor Island

Mayor Island last erupted around 500-1,000 years ago. Around 6,300 years ago Mayor Island exploded violently forming two calderas. These were largely filled in by subsequent eruptions.

White Island

The summit of a submerged stratovolcano (a type of cone volcano). Measuring from the seafloor, the volcano is over 1,900m in height and is still active, releasing gases and steam regularly. Last known eruption was in 2001.

Whale Island

A complex volcano (made of more than one type, e.g. caldera and cone). Classified as active but last eruption was around 9,000 years ago. Hot springs can still be found on the island, which suggests the vent is still intact.


Last erupted in 1886, destroying nearby settlements including Te Wairoa. This eruption also destroyed the world-famous Pink and White Terraces. Mt Tarawera is a ryolite cone volcano, part of the Okataina volcanic centre.


A caldera formed around 240,000 years ago. Unusually, this erupted only weeks after the explosion that formed Lake Rotorua, located 30km to the north-east of Ōhakuri. Ōhakuri is part of the Taupō volcanic zone.


A caldera volcano that erupted about 240,000 years ago. The eruption caused the mountain to collapse, and the hole has since been filled by water, forming a lake. The eruption was followed weeks later by an explosion at Ōhakuri.


A caldera volcano that last erupted about 1,800 years ago. This eruption was the most violent the world has experienced in the past 5,000 years. The lake covers many separate vents, three of which were involved in the last eruption.


A stratovolcano (a type of cone volcano) that is still active. It first erupted around 2,500 years ago, and the most recent eruption was in 1975. Ngāuruhoe is formed from a side vent of the Tongariro volcano.


Geologically a group of 12 volcanoes, located north of Mt Ruapehu, which also includes Mt Ngāuruhoe. Part of the Taupō volcanic zone. Last eruption was in 1896 from the Te Mari crater on the north-west side of the mountain.


The highest mountain in the North Island (2,797 m) is a stratovolcano (a type of cone volcano). The volcano has three summits. Crater Lake is located in the current active crater close to the summit. Last erupted in 2007.


An andesite cone volcano that last erupted in 1854. Formed over a period of around 130,000 years, this mountain is an almost perfect cone shape – one of the best examples of a cone volcano worldwide.

Akaroa, Banks Peninsula

Banks Peninsula was formed by stratovolcanoes (a type of cone volcano), particularly at Akaroa and Lyttelton. This area was once a plate boundary, similar to the Taupō volcanic zone today. Last erupted 6 million years ago.

Mount Horrible

The basalt from this ancient volcano forms the landscape and harbour of Timaru. Also the source of the local bluestone. Last erupted around 2 million years ago.

Mount Cargill

An extinct shield volcano (formed by a volcanic field) that last erupted around 10 million years ago. The rock from the eruption formed basalt columns on the eastern side of the mountain, the organ pipes.


Pukekawa (Auckland Domain)

Scoria cone volcano. Formed around 150,000 years ago. One of the first volcanoes formed in the Auckland volcanic field. Now a part of the Auckland Domain.

Lake Pupuke

Crater of a scoria cone volcano that last erupted around 140,000 years ago. The lava from explosions at Lake Pupuke trapped many trees, which have become fossilised. These are still visible at Takapuna beach.

Mt Albert

A scoria cone volcano formed around 60,000 years ago that is 135m in height. Now a busy suburb of Auckland.

Crater Hill

A scoria cone volcano formed around 30,000 years ago. Formed by a phreatomagmatic eruption where the lava interacts with water when it erupts. Similar eruption to the formation of Lake Pupuke.

Mt Smart

A scoria cone volcano formed around 20,000 years ago. Was originally around 80m high but has been extensively quarried over the past 100 years for basalt and scoria. Now home to Mt Smart Stadium.

Mt Māngere

A scoria cone volcano formed around 18,000 years ago. Historically used as a Māori pā site (as were many volcanoes). Features a lava dome in the centre of the crater – the only Auckland volcano with this feature.

One Tree Hill

A scoria cone volcano, which last erupted around 17,000 years ago. One of the largest eruptions in Auckland, the magma field ran through to Manukau Harbour. Historically, one of the largest pā sites in New Zealand.

Three Kings

Once four individual scoria cone volcanoes, these have been extensively quarried so only one peak remains. Last eruption was around 17,000 years ago. The area contains many lava tunnels formed by lava flows beneath the surface.

Mt Eden

A scoria cone volcano that last erupted around 16,000 years ago. At 196m in height, Mt Eden is the highest natural point in Auckland. Historically used as a pā site and also a quarry.

Mt Wellington

A scoria cone volcano that last erupted around 12,000 years ago. Mt Wellington is one of Auckland’s largest volcanoes (with One Tree Hill and Rangitoto). Quarried for industrial stone, it is now being developed for housing.


The site of the most recent of Auckland’s volcanic eruptions, around 600 years ago, when Māori already inhabited the area. Also the largest of the Auckland eruptions, equalling the volume of all previous eruptions combined.

Onepoto Basin

Formed by a phreatomagmatic eruption similar to Lake Pupuke and Crater Hill. The crater was eroded over time and then drained to form a local park and playing fields. Last erupted around 20,000 years ago.

Rights: The University of Waikato Published 31 August 2016